Happy to be mum

By Luciana

As my daughter approaches her first birthday, it has forced me to sit up and really soak in how my life has changed. For the better!

To set the scene, I was the ultimate party animal: lived for clubbing, put on club nights, over indulged in party dens from Friday until Sunday, spent all my money seeing DJs and going to festivals… I have a mountain of stories, most of which I probably should keep a secret.

But I had worn myself out when my now husband popped into my life again on a flying visit home to Glasgow from Australia and we fell in love in an instant.

When I became pregnant, I struggled a lot with who I was and where I now sat among my peers. Only one or two of my close friends actually had children; the rest were still living life as I had – partying, up to date with new music, seeing all my favourite DJs – and I had pangs of jealousy coupled with delight that I was out of the scene and at home with my perfect baby.

It has taken until now to strike a balance: the odd night out for a dance, just a few drinks, enough to relax me, not enough to make the next day unbearable, playing disco to techno with my baby and having a dance before retiring early.

And now I know, now I realise, I am content, happy to leave the clubbing to the juniors, happy to stay at home on a Saturday night with my husband.

Happy to be mum.

Luc

[Paint skills all mine -Ed]

One thought on “Happy to be mum

Leave a comment